Final Blog

What I have learned in the past sixteen weeks?  Prior to attending this class, I was limited on my choices, either Science Technology and Injustice or Eastern European Economics.  Since I was taking this class I lost hours at work and after looking at my DARS report, I realized it was futile to take it for credit purposes.

I did learn some interesting materials even if it seems I have a negative attitude towards this class and subject.  I initially thought technology was about the newest computers, Ipods, flat screen HDTVs.  I didnt realize transportation, benches, nuclear energy promoted inequality within a technological field.  Looking at technology and inequality from a different perspective, maybe inequality is needed.  Not everyone should have nuclear technology and certain neighborhoods should restrict transportation to regulate people migrating.

Another interesting subject was about DNA and how people are losing their rights as citizens and how some people are involuntarily giving up their DNA because its court ordered.  There were interesting topics such as technology as artifacts and how the traditional social theories of justices are implemented into the technological creations.  The urban creation and expansion from Curitiba, Brazil was interesting and JUS 494 shouldve covered more about global warning and pollution if possible because Curitiba is preventing pollution and maintaining a clean environment in an urban setting.

What I least enjoyed was when we had the guest speaking.  He read directly from a powerpoint and although he was passionate about his presentation and a subject matter expert, he needed to realize he was talking with people and specifically undergraduate students not professors at a seminar.  The material he spoke about was extremely difficult to comprehend and I had to research his material online before writing my weekly blog.

My final blog for JUS 494.

Leave a comment